BoxNCase vs Faire
A practical comparison for food and beverage brands and distributors choosing between a marketplace model and a wholesale commerce platform.
Faire charges brands a 15% commission on marketplace orders plus a $10 fee on a retailer’s first order, while BoxNCase publishes plan pricing with a $0 Free plan, a $64 Starter plan, and a $239 Brand plan.[2][4][5] BoxNCase also gives you tiered store and SKU limits, a shared or isolated stack, and custom domain options, which matters if you want more control over how your wholesale operation runs.[2][1][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11][12][13][14]
Fees
How the fee model works
The fee structure is one of the main differences in a Faire comparison. Faire publishes a marketplace commission on orders that flow through its platform, and it also describes a separate path for Faire Direct orders. BoxNCase publishes plan pricing instead of taking a marketplace commission from the claims available here, so you can compare subscription cost against transaction-based charges and decide which structure fits your margin and order pattern.[2][3][1][4][5]
- Marketplace order fee
- Direct-order fee
- Entry cost
If you sell many small wholesale orders, the fee model matters because commission takes a share of each marketplace order. If you sell through your own store and direct links, the comparison changes again.[2][1][4][5]
Stores and SKUs
How much catalog and store structure you get
BoxNCase publishes limits for stores and SKUs on each plan, which makes the operational scope explicit before you sign up. That is useful for teams that manage multiple brands, regions, or channels and want to know when they will outgrow a shared setup. Faire’s public materials in this brief focus on marketplace access, retailer reach, and payment terms, not on plan-by-plan store or SKU limits.[6][7][8][15][9][10][11][16][3]
- Stores on the published entry plan
- Stores on the growth plan
- SKU capacity on the published plans
Plan structure matters when you need a defined catalog ceiling, separate storefronts, or a migration path from a small assortment to a larger one.[6][7][8][15][9][10][11][16]
Retailers
What retailers get in the buying flow
Faire publicly centers retailer discovery, buyer terms, and first-order incentives. Its published materials say eligible retailers get 60-day net payment terms and free returns within 60 days on their first order from any new brand.[17] BoxNCase’s cited pricing materials here focus on merchant plans and storefront structure, so the buyer-side comparison is about marketplace reach on one side and your own wholesale operation on the other.[17][3][12][13][14][18]
- Retailer payment terms
- First-order return policy
- Buyer reach
If you want a platform that helps retailers browse a broad wholesale marketplace, Faire’s published model is clear. If you want a commerce stack for your own stores and assortment, BoxNCase’s published plan limits and storefront features are the relevant part of the decision.[17][3][12][13][14][18]
Feature-by-feature comparison
| Feature | BoxNCase | Faire |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing and fees | ||
| Published entry price | $0 per month[1] | Not publishedPublic pricing is not listed in the cited source[2] |
| Marketplace commission on orders | NoNo commission is stated in the cited plan claims[12] | Yes15% plus $10 on a retailer’s first order[2] |
| Direct-order fee | NoNo direct-order commission is stated in the cited plan claims[13] | Yes0% on Faire Direct links[2] |
| Annual billing reference | $768 per year billed annually on Starter[4] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[2] |
| Catalog and structure | ||
| Store limit on entry plan | Up to 1 store[6] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
| Store limit on growth plan | Up to 10 stores[8] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
| SKU limit on growth plan | Unlimited SKUs[11] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
| Custom domain | YesIncluded on Brand and Enterprise plans[14] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
| Buyer and operational terms | ||
| Retailer payment terms | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[12] | Yes60-day net payment terms for eligible retailers[17] |
| First-order returns | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[13] | YesFree returns within 60 days on a first order from any new brand[17] |
| Support level on published plans | Email support, priority support, or dedicated support depending on plan[13] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
| Stack isolation | YesIsolated stack on Brand and Enterprise plans[14] | Not publishedNot stated in the cited source[3] |
Operations
Where the operating model differs
Publish a scoped storefront
BoxNCase publishes storefront and stack features by plan. That makes it easier to map a specific operating setup to a specific tier. Free gives you a shared storefront and marketplace listing. Starter adds email support. Brand and Enterprise add custom domain, isolated stack, and higher limits. If you manage food or beverage wholesale across several lines or regions, that clarity can matter more than a broad marketplace promise.[12][13][14][18]
Separate shared and isolated setups
The published plan language distinguishes shared and isolated stack options. Shared is on Free and Starter. Isolated is on Brand and Enterprise. That gives you a simple way to start with a lighter setup and move to a more isolated one later. If you operate more than one store or need separate presentation for different wholesale lines, those boundaries are easy to compare in the plan table.[12][13][14][18]
Use the marketplace listing as a layer
BoxNCase includes a marketplace listing in the cited plan features. That matters if you want your own storefront and also want another surface for discovery. Faire’s public model starts with marketplace discovery and retailer access. So the operational question is not just where orders come from, but whether you want the marketplace to be the center of the workflow or a distribution layer on top of your own commerce stack.[12][13][14][18][3]
Match support to your stage
The BoxNCase plans move from email support to priority support and then to dedicated support with an SLA on Enterprise. That gives you a visible support path as volume and operational complexity grow. Faire’s cited materials here focus on buyer incentives and marketplace scale, not on support tiers. For an operator, the issue is whether you want a marketplace-first motion or a support ladder tied to your own wholesale stack.[13][14][18][3]
Who should stay with Faire
- You want retailer discovery to be the starting point. Faire’s public materials center a marketplace with over 100,000 brands and retail-side terms that are already familiar to buyers.[3][17]
- Your team sells through the marketplace and accepts commission-based economics. Faire publishes a 15% commission on marketplace orders and a $10 first-order fee, so the model is clear if that is how you work.[2]
- You rely on the buyer terms in the Faire model. Eligible retailers get 60-day net payment terms and free returns within 60 days on a first order from a new brand.[17]
- You want a broad marketplace presence more than a configurable store structure. The cited Faire materials emphasize marketplace reach, while BoxNCase’s cited materials emphasize plan tiers, store limits, and storefront control.[3][6][14]
How to move from Faire
Small catalog
Start on the free plan and map your assortment
If you are testing a smaller set of food or beverage lines, BoxNCase Free gives you up to 1 store and up to 200 SKUs.[12] That is enough to move a focused assortment without committing to a larger operating footprint on day one.[6][9]
Growing brand
Move when store count or SKU volume grows
If you need more than 1 store or more than 200 SKUs, the published plans step up to Starter, Brand, and Enterprise.[12] Brand and Enterprise also add custom domain and isolated stack options, which can help when your wholesale setup gets more complex.[7][8][15][10][11][16][14][18]
Platform switch
Use a direct conversion path
If you already sell through Faire, move your assortment, storefront details, and support contacts into a BoxNCase setup that matches your next operating stage. Use the contact path if you want help selecting a plan for multiple stores, higher SKU counts, or a more isolated stack.[12][13][14][18]
Need help choosing a plan
See BoxNCase pricingQuestions buyers ask
Is BoxNCase cheaper than Faire?
The public claims here show BoxNCase Free at $0 per month, Starter at $64 per month, and Brand at $239 per month.[1][4][5] Faire publishes a 15% marketplace commission plus a $10 fee on a retailer’s first order, and 0% on Faire Direct links.[2] The right comparison depends on whether you want subscription pricing or transaction-based fees.[1][4][5][2]
Does Faire list more brands?
Faire says it has over 100,000 brands on the marketplace.[3] BoxNCase’s cited pricing claims do not provide a brand-count figure. If retailer discovery volume is the main issue, Faire’s marketplace scale is part of the case for staying there.[3]
Can BoxNCase handle more than one store?
Yes. The cited plans show up to 1 store on Free, up to 3 on Starter, up to 10 on Brand, and up to 100 on Enterprise.[15][7] That lets you match the plan to how many storefronts you manage.[6][7][8][15]
Does BoxNCase have SKU limits?
Yes on some plans, and no on others. Free includes up to 200 SKUs, Starter up to 2,000 SKUs, and Brand and Enterprise have unlimited SKUs in the cited pricing claims.[9][10][11][16]
What does Faire offer buyers?
Faire says eligible retailers get 60-day net payment terms and free returns within 60 days on their first order from a new brand.[17] That buyer policy is part of why some brands keep selling there even when they also run their own wholesale stack.[17]
When should you move away from Faire?
Move when you want a defined plan structure, custom domains, isolated stacks, or a direct path from Free to Enterprise as your operation grows. BoxNCase publishes those controls in the cited plan features, while Faire’s cited materials emphasize marketplace reach and buyer terms.[12][13][14][18][17][3]
Compare your next move
Use BoxNCase if you want published plan pricing, store limits, SKU limits, and control over storefront structure.[1][4][5][6][7][8][9][10][11]
Related comparisons and alternatives
Sources
- [1]BoxNCase Free plan costs $0 per month. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [2]Faire charges brands a 15% commission on all marketplace orders plus a $10 fee on a retailer's first order, while orders through a brand's Faire Direct link are commission-free (0%). https://www.faire.com/how-faire-works (captured 2026-09-02)
- [3]Faire says over 100,000 brands sell on the marketplace and that retailers can pay invoices 60 days later, interest free. https://www.faire.com/ (captured 2026-09-02)
- [4]BoxNCase Starter plan costs $64 per month ($768 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [5]BoxNCase Brand plan costs $239 per month ($2,868 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [6]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 1 store. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [7]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 3 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [8]BoxNCase Brand plan includes up to 10 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [9]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [10]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 2,000 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [11]BoxNCase Brand plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [12]BoxNCase Free plan features: 1 store; Up to 200 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com); Stripe Connect payouts. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [13]BoxNCase Starter plan features: Up to 3 stores; Up to 2,000 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront; Email support. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [14]BoxNCase Brand plan features: Up to 10 stores; Unlimited SKUs; Isolated stack; Custom domain; Priority support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [15]BoxNCase Enterprise plan includes up to 100 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [16]BoxNCase Enterprise plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
- [17]Eligible retailers get 60-day net payment terms and free returns within 60 days on their first order from any new brand. https://www.faire.com/how-faire-works (captured 2026-09-02)
- [18]BoxNCase Enterprise plan features: Unlimited stores; Isolated stack; Custom domain; SLA; Dedicated support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
Last reviewed 2026-09-02. Competitor figures come from linked public pages on the capture date; check each source for the current number.