Skip to content

BoxNCase vs BigCommerce

A practical comparison for wholesale food and beverage brands and distributors.

BoxNCase is built around wholesale catalogs, store-level merchandising, and marketplace distribution. BigCommerce is a general ecommerce platform with B2B features and broader website tooling. If you need a wholesale-first operating model with plan tiers tied to stores and SKUs, BoxNCase fits that job. If you want a broader ecommerce stack with a mainstream storefront platform, BigCommerce may suit your team better.

$0[1]
BoxNCase Free plan
$39/mo[2]
BigCommerce Core plan
200 SKUs[3]
BoxNCase Free SKU limit

Fees

How the pricing models compare

BoxNCase publishes plan tiers for wholesale operators, including a free entry point and higher plans that add stores, SKUs, and support. BigCommerce publishes a broader ecommerce price ladder with GMV-based caps on lower plans, a free trial, and payment-processing charges that apply across plans. For a wholesale team, the main question is not the headline monthly rate alone. It is how the platform handles catalog size, store count, and the fee structure that follows your order volume.

Starting monthly price
$0[1]
BoxNCase
$39/mo[2]
BigCommerce
Plan with annual billing
$79/mo billed annually[4]
BoxNCase
$29/mo billed annually[2]
BigCommerce
Upper entry plan
$299/mo[5]
BoxNCase
$399/mo[2]
BigCommerce
Trial or free access
Free plan[1]
BoxNCase
15-day free trial[12]
BigCommerce

Compare the plan structure, the included limits, and the fee mechanics before you map a product line to either platform.

Buyers and catalog limits

How each platform handles scale in catalogs and stores

BoxNCase ties plan choice to the number of stores and the size of the wholesale catalog. That matters if you run separate storefronts by brand, channel, or region. BigCommerce gives you a general-purpose commerce system with product and channel tools, but the pricing page frames the purchase around GMV bands and platform tiering rather than wholesale store counts. If your day-to-day work centers on line sheets, shared storefronts, and SKU growth, the limit structure is part of the decision, not an afterthought.

Stores on the free tier
1 store[6]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Catalog size on the free tier
Up to 200 SKUs[3]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Growth-tier store count
Up to 10 stores[7]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Enterprise catalog limit
Unlimited SKUs[8]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce

A catalog ceiling can matter as much as a monthly fee when you sell by case, pallet, or mixed assortment.

Operations and support

How the day-to-day workflow differs

BoxNCase includes marketplace listing, shared or isolated storefront options, and support that rises with the plan. That points to a workflow built for wholesale selling, not only storefront design. BigCommerce emphasizes multi-storefront commerce, apps, payment processing, and broader site operations. That can work well when your team needs a general ecommerce system. The operational difference is whether you want a platform shaped around wholesale distribution or one shaped around a wide set of commerce use cases.

Custom domain on mid-tier plans
Included on Brand and Enterprise[9]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Support level
Email, priority, or dedicated support[10]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Marketplace listing
Included on BoxNCase plans[11]
BoxNCase
Not stated on pricing page
BigCommerce
Payment processing
Stripe Connect payouts[11]
BoxNCase
2.89% + $0.29 per transaction[12]
BigCommerce

The operational fit depends on whether your team manages wholesale accounts, public-facing storefronts, or both.

Feature-by-feature comparison

Feature-by-feature comparison
FeatureBoxNCaseBigCommerce
Pricing and limits
Entry price
$0 per month[1]
$39/mo[2]Core plan
Annual-billing price
$79 per month[4]Starter plan
$29 billed annually[2]Core plan
Free access
YesFree plan[1]Available
Yes15-day free trial[12]Available
Store limit on entry plan
1 store[6]Free plan
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
SKU limit on entry plan
200 SKUs[3]Free plan
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Higher-tier SKU limit
YesUnlimited SKUs[13]Brand and Enterprise
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Wholesale operating model
Marketplace listing
YesIncluded[11]
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Shared storefront
YesIncluded on Free and Starter[11]
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Custom domain
YesIncluded on Brand and Enterprise[9]
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Dedicated support
YesIncluded on Enterprise[15]
Not publishedNot stated on pricing page
Payments and fees
Card processing rate
Not publishedNot stated in claims list
2.89% + $0.29[12]Per transaction
Platform fee on embedded payments
Not publishedNot stated in claims list
$0 platform fee[14]With embedded payment providers
Open payment provider fee
Not publishedNot stated in claims list
2.0%, 1.0%, or 0.6%[14]Depends on plan
GMV-based plan caps
Not publishedNot stated in claims list
YesYes[2]Core, Growth, and Scale have GMV caps

Where BoxNCase fits in a wholesale operation

Wholesale storefront structure

BoxNCase ties its plans to store count and storefront setup. That is useful when you sell through separate brand pages, channel-specific assortments, or multiple sales regions. The free and starter tiers use a shared storefront, while Brand and Enterprise add an isolated stack and custom domain. For a wholesale operator, that is not a cosmetic detail. It affects how buyers see your line, how you segment assortments, and how much control you keep over each store.

Catalog growth

BoxNCase gives you a low-friction starting point with a 200-SKU free tier and a higher plan path that moves to unlimited SKUs.[3] That matters if your assortment starts small and grows as you add pack sizes, case packs, or seasonal items. Instead of forcing one catalog model on every seller, the platform leaves room to move from a short list to a larger wholesale line without changing the operating model each time.

Marketplace distribution

BoxNCase includes marketplace listing in its published plan features. That gives you a channel for discovery in addition to your own storefront. For some brands, the marketplace layer is the practical way to get in front of buyers who are already shopping for wholesale products. For others, it is a secondary channel that supports account growth without requiring another system.

Support and control

BoxNCase moves from email support to priority support and then to dedicated support on Enterprise. The higher plans also add isolated stack options, custom domain support, and SLA coverage. That is the profile you usually want when your wholesale operation has more than one storefront, more complex buyer rules, or service expectations that go beyond a standard retail setup.

When BigCommerce may be the better fit

  • Stay with BigCommerce if you run a broader ecommerce business and want a general platform for content, apps, and storefront design across multiple channels. Its pricing page frames the product around mainstream commerce and B2B options, not only wholesale distribution.
  • Stay with BigCommerce if your team is already set up around payment processing, app integrations, and site operations. The platform publishes a mature pricing ladder with free trial access, GMV bands, and payment fees that are easy to map to a standard ecommerce model.
  • Stay with BigCommerce if your buying process depends on a broad web stack and you do not need BoxNCase features such as marketplace listing or plan tiers built around wholesale store counts.
  • Stay with BigCommerce if your internal team wants to keep one ecommerce platform for more than one business model and does not need the wholesale-specific structure BoxNCase uses for plans, storefronts, and catalog limits.

How to move between the two

From BigCommerce to BoxNCase

Wholesale catalog first

Map your active products, case packs, and buyer groups before you move anything. Then decide which stores should remain shared and which need isolation. BoxNCase is easier to evaluate when you translate the business into storefronts, SKUs, and support needs, not just pages and themes.

From BoxNCase to BigCommerce

Broader ecommerce requirements

If you need a wider app stack, content system, or a more general storefront platform, inventory the workflows that depend on BoxNCase-specific store limits and marketplace distribution. That helps you see which parts of the wholesale process must be rebuilt before you switch.

If you are undecided

Pilot one channel

Use one product line or one buyer segment as a pilot. Compare catalog setup, buyer access, order handling, and support response before you move the whole business. That gives you a clearer read on fit without forcing a full platform change on day one.

Need help comparing workflows?

Talk to BoxNCase

Common questions

Is BoxNCase only for food and beverage brands?

BoxNCase is built for wholesale commerce, with pricing and plan limits that fit store-based selling, SKU growth, and marketplace listing. Food and beverage teams are the main use case on this page, but the comparison is about the operating model, not only one category.

Does BigCommerce publish wholesale pricing?

BigCommerce publishes Core, Growth, Scale, and Performance pricing with GMV caps on the lower plans, plus a 15-day trial and transaction fees.[12] That helps if you need a standard ecommerce benchmark before deciding whether to add a wholesale-first system.

Which platform gives you more control over storefront structure?

BoxNCase publishes shared storefront and isolated stack options across its plans, plus custom domain support on higher tiers. That makes the storefront model part of the plan choice, which is useful when you run separate stores for different buyers or channels.

How do the free options differ?

BoxNCase has a free plan at $0 per month with 1 store and up to 200 SKUs.[11] BigCommerce offers a 15-day free trial, but the pricing page does not present a permanent free plan in the same way.[12]

Which platform is better for a larger catalog?

BoxNCase publishes an unlimited SKU limit on Brand and Enterprise. BigCommerce’s pricing page gives GMV bands for the lower plans, but the claims provided here do not state a published SKU ceiling on that page.

Can you keep using both during a transition?

Yes. Many teams run a short pilot first. Keep your current platform live for the rest of the catalog while you test one line or buyer group on the new system. That lowers risk and gives you a clean comparison on setup and support.

What is the main difference in buyer fit?

BoxNCase centers wholesale store counts, catalog limits, marketplace listing, and support tiers. BigCommerce centers broader ecommerce capabilities, paid plans, and B2B options. If your daily work is wholesale distribution, BoxNCase is shaped more directly around that job.

Compare plans and choose your path

No commitment until you decide what fits your catalog and buyer model.

More comparisons and guides

Sources

  1. [1]BoxNCase Free plan costs $0 per month. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  2. [2]BigCommerce plans are Core $39/mo ($29 billed annually, up to $30K trailing-12-month GMV), Growth $105/mo ($79 annually, up to $100K TTM GMV), Scale $399/mo ($299 annually, $33,333/month GMV with 0.9% overage), and Performance from $1,499/mo billed annually. https://www.bigcommerce.com/pricing/ (captured 2026-10-21)
  3. [3]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  4. [4]BoxNCase Starter plan costs $79 per month ($768 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  5. [5]BoxNCase Brand plan costs $299 per month ($2,868 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  6. [6]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 1 store. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  7. [7]BoxNCase Brand plan includes up to 10 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  8. [8]BoxNCase Enterprise plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  9. [9]BoxNCase Brand plan features: Up to 10 stores; Unlimited SKUs; Isolated stack; Custom domain; Priority support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  10. [10]BoxNCase Starter plan features: Up to 3 stores; Up to 2,000 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront; Email support. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  11. [11]BoxNCase Free plan features: 1 store; Up to 200 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com); Stripe Connect payouts. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-21)
  12. [12]BigCommerce offers a fully functional 15-day free trial, and card processing starts at 2.89% + $0.29 per transaction on all plans. https://www.bigcommerce.com/pricing/ (captured 2026-10-21)

Last reviewed 2026-10-21. Competitor figures come from linked public pages on the capture date; check each source for the current number.

More comparisons