Skip to content

BoxNCase vs commercetools

A practical comparison for wholesale food and beverage brands and distributors.

BoxNCase is built for wholesale selling with published plan prices, store and SKU limits, a marketplace listing, and a shared or isolated storefront model. commercetools is an enterprise commerce platform with a 60-day free trial, order-based sales pricing, and a broader API-first scope.[2] If you want a system centered on wholesale operations and a visible starting cost, BoxNCase is the more direct fit. If you want an enterprise commerce architecture with sales-quoted pricing and broad composable commerce coverage, commercetools is the stronger match.[1][4][3][5][2][6]

$0[1]
BoxNCase Free plan
60 days[2]
commercetools free trial
$79[3]
BoxNCase Starter plan

Fees

How the pricing models differ

BoxNCase publishes plan pricing and plan limits. commercetools uses sales-led pricing with no published price figures, and it offers a 60-day free trial for evaluation.[2] That makes the first conversation different. BoxNCase lets you map plan cost to stores and SKU capacity before you talk to sales. commercetools asks you to work from a trial and a quote.[1][3][7][8][2][6]

Published monthly starting point
$0 on Free[1]
BoxNCase
No published price figures[6]
commercetools
Trial length
Not stated in the pricing claims
BoxNCase
60 days[2]
commercetools
How pricing is sold
Self-serve plan tiers plus sales-led enterprise[8]
BoxNCase
Quoted through sales[6]
commercetools

If you need a price sheet before a sales call, BoxNCase gives you one. If you want a trial-first enterprise process, commercetools follows that model.[1][2][6]

Buyers

Stores, SKUs, and storefront setup

BoxNCase ties each plan to store count, SKU capacity, and storefront setup. The Free plan covers one store and up to 200 SKUs.[9] Starter extends to 3 stores and 2,000 SKUs.[10] Brand and Enterprise both remove the SKU cap, with Brand supporting up to 10 stores and Enterprise up to 100 stores.[11] commercetools says its pricing includes unlimited catalogs, channels, and storefronts, but the public pricing page does not show plan-by-plan limits or public dollar figures.[12][9][13][14][15][16][11][17][18][6]

Store capacity on public pricing
1 to 100 stores depending on plan [c:bnc-enterprise-stores][12]
BoxNCase
Unlimited catalogs, channels, and storefronts[18]
commercetools
SKU limits
200 to unlimited depending on plan[9]
BoxNCase
Not published on the pricing page[6]
commercetools
Storefront model
Shared storefront on lower plans; custom domain on higher plans[4]
BoxNCase
Storefronts included with pricing[18]
commercetools

For a small catalog or a narrow store count, BoxNCase keeps the math visible. For a broad enterprise catalog structure, commercetools publishes a wider platform scope but not the same tiered limit sheet.[12][14][15][11][18]

Feature comparison

Feature comparison
FeatureBoxNCasecommercetools
Pricing and packaging
Published plan prices
Yes[1]Free, Starter, Brand, and Enterprise pricing is published.
No[6]Pricing is quoted through sales and no public price figures are shown.
Free trial
Not stated in the claims
60 days[2]Full access to core commerce APIs and Merchant Center, with exclusions.
Sales-led option
YesEnterprise[8]Custom pricing.
YesQuoted through sales[6]Order-based model.
Marketplace purchase option
Not stated in the claims
YesGoogle Cloud and AWS marketplaces[18]Purchase available via both.
Store and catalog limits
Free plan store limit
1 store[12]
Not publishedNot published on the pricing page.
Starter store limit
3 stores[13]
Not publishedNot published on the pricing page.
Brand store limit
10 stores[15]
Not publishedNot published on the pricing page.
Enterprise store limit
100 stores[11]
Not publishedNot published on the pricing page.
SKU cap on lower plans
200 on Free, 2,000 on Starter [c:bnc-starter-skus][9]
Not publishedNot published on the pricing page.
Unlimited SKUs
YesBrand and Enterprise[16]No SKU limit.
YesUnlimited catalogs[18]Catalog scope is published.
Operations and commerce scope
Shared storefront on entry plans
YesYes[4]Shared storefront on Free and Starter.
Not publishedNot stated on the pricing page.
Custom domain
YesBrand and Enterprise[5]Custom domain included.
Not publishedNot stated on the pricing page.
Dedicated support tier
YesEnterprise SLA and dedicated support[19]Published on the plan page.
Premium Support as a paid add-on[18]Listed among paid add-ons.
Core commerce API scope
Not publishedNot stated in the claims.
YesB2C, B2B, and B2X[2]Included in the free trial.

Where each platform fits in day-to-day work

Plan clarity

BoxNCase publishes plan names, monthly prices, annual billing equivalents, store limits, and SKU limits. That helps you size the account before implementation. commercetools publishes a free trial and a pricing structure built around sales quotes, but the public pricing page does not show plan-by-plan dollar figures. If you manage a food or beverage catalog and need a simple starting frame, BoxNCase is easier to scope from the page alone.[1][3][7][8][12][13][15][11][6]

Store structure

BoxNCase uses plan tiers to define how many stores you can run. That is useful if your business separates brands, regions, or channels and wants that structure visible in advance. commercetools says its pricing includes unlimited catalogs, channels, and storefronts, which fits a broader composable setup. The tradeoff is that the public pricing page gives less operational detail on the quote path.[12][13][15][11][18][6]

Catalog growth

BoxNCase starts at 200 SKUs on Free, moves to 2,000 on Starter, and removes the SKU cap on Brand and Enterprise.[14] That is straightforward for distributors or brands that expect a catalog to grow in stages. commercetools uses catalog language tied to enterprise commerce rather than a public SKU ladder on the pricing page.[9][14][16][17][18][6]

Implementation posture

BoxNCase centers wholesale storefronts and marketplace listing in its published plans. commercetools centers composable commerce, with APIs, Merchant Center access in the trial, and optional paid add-ons such as Premium Support, B2B APIs, Audit Log Premium, performance testing, and HIPAA compliance. If your work depends on wholesale listing and plan visibility, BoxNCase is narrower and simpler. If your work depends on a wider enterprise commerce stack, commercetools is broader.[4][10][5][19][2][18]

Who should stay with commercetools

  • Choose commercetools if your team wants a 60-day trial with full access to core commerce APIs and Merchant Center before commercial terms are set.[2]
  • Choose commercetools if your buying process runs through sales quotes and you do not need public plan prices on the website.[6]
  • Choose commercetools if your scope centers on a broader enterprise commerce stack with unlimited catalogs, channels, and storefronts plus paid add-ons.[18]
  • Choose commercetools if you already plan to buy through Google Cloud or AWS marketplaces and want that procurement path available.[18]

Migration paths

From trial to operating plan

If you want a public price sheet

Start with BoxNCase if your team needs a visible monthly plan, a store count, and a SKU cap before procurement starts. The published tiers make it easier to model the account for a small brand, a distributor, or a multi-store setup.[1][3][7][8][12][13]

From broad enterprise scope

If you need enterprise commerce breadth

Stay with commercetools if you need the trial, the API-first commerce model, and the broader catalog and storefront language already published on the pricing page. That path suits teams that expect long solution design cycles and want quotes from sales.[2][6][18]

From wholesale workflow

If you sell food or beverage wholesale

Move to BoxNCase if your day-to-day work includes store limits, SKU limits, storefront setup, and marketplace listing. Those are the details BoxNCase publishes up front, which helps when you manage buyers, assortments, and catalog growth.[4][10][5][19]

Need help scoping a move

Contact BoxNCase

Common questions

Is BoxNCase or commercetools easier to price before a sales call?

BoxNCase is easier to price from the public page because it publishes monthly plan prices and plan limits. commercetools uses sales-led pricing with no published price figures, so you usually need a quote.[1][3][7][8][6]

Does commercetools publish a free trial?

Yes. commercetools offers a 60-day free trial with full access to core commerce APIs and Merchant Center, excluding InStore, Frontend, and agentic capabilities.[2]

Does BoxNCase publish store and SKU limits?

Yes. BoxNCase publishes 1 store and up to 200 SKUs on Free, 3 stores and 2,000 SKUs on Starter, 10 stores and unlimited SKUs on Brand, and up to 100 stores with unlimited SKUs on Enterprise.[12][9][13][14][15][16][11][17]

Does commercetools publish unlimited catalogs and storefronts?

Yes. Its pricing page says pricing includes unlimited catalogs, channels, and storefronts. It also lists paid add-ons such as Premium Support, B2B APIs, Audit Log Premium, performance testing, and HIPAA compliance.[18]

Which platform fits wholesale food and beverage teams?

BoxNCase is the more direct fit when you want wholesale plan tiers, storefront structure, and marketplace listing on the public pricing page. commercetools is a broader enterprise commerce platform with sales-led pricing and a free trial.[4][10][5][19][2][6]

Can I compare BoxNCase and commercetools with the public pages alone?

Only partly. BoxNCase publishes plan and limit detail, while commercetools publishes trial and pricing-model detail, but not public price figures. That means you can compare packaging and scope, yet a final cost review still needs a sales conversation for commercetools.[1][3][6]

Compare plans and see the fit

Start with the published plan sheet, then decide whether you need a sales quote or a wholesale workflow review.[1][6]

More comparisons and guides

Sources

  1. [1]BoxNCase Free plan costs $0 per month. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  2. [2]commercetools offers a 60-day free trial with full access to all core commerce APIs (B2C, B2B and B2X) and the Merchant Center, excluding InStore, Frontend and agentic capabilities. https://commercetools.com/free-trial (captured 2026-10-05)
  3. [3]BoxNCase Starter plan costs $79 per month ($768 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  4. [4]BoxNCase Free plan features: 1 store; Up to 200 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com); Stripe Connect payouts. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  5. [5]BoxNCase Brand plan features: Up to 10 stores; Unlimited SKUs; Isolated stack; Custom domain; Priority support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  6. [6]commercetools prices on an order-based model rather than GMV, with no published price figures; plans are quoted through sales. https://commercetools.com/pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  7. [7]BoxNCase Brand plan costs $299 per month ($2,868 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  8. [8]BoxNCase Enterprise plan costs custom pricing (sales-led). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  9. [9]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  10. [10]BoxNCase Starter plan features: Up to 3 stores; Up to 2,000 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront; Email support. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  11. [11]BoxNCase Enterprise plan includes up to 100 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  12. [12]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 1 store. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  13. [13]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 3 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  14. [14]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 2,000 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  15. [15]BoxNCase Brand plan includes up to 10 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  16. [16]BoxNCase Brand plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  17. [17]BoxNCase Enterprise plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
  18. [18]Pricing includes unlimited catalogs, channels and storefronts, with paid add-ons such as Premium Support, B2B APIs, Audit Log Premium, performance testing and HIPAA compliance, and purchase available via the Google Cloud and AWS marketplaces. https://commercetools.com/pricing (captured 2026-10-05)

Last reviewed 2026-10-05. Competitor figures come from linked public pages on the capture date; check each source for the current number.

More comparisons