BoxNCase vs Shopify
A practical comparison for wholesale food and beverage brands and distributors.
Shopify is a general commerce platform with pricing that starts at $29 per month and card rates that start at 2.9% + 30 cents on Basic[2][5]. BoxNCase starts at $0 per month on Free, with plans built around stores, SKUs, marketplace listing, and wholesale storefronts[1][6]. If you sell cases, manage buyer accounts, or run distributor relationships, compare the operating limits as carefully as the monthly fee.
Fees
How the pricing stacks up
Shopify publishes monthly plans and transaction-linked card rates, so your cost depends on the plan and how you process payments[2][5]. BoxNCase publishes plan fees with store and SKU limits attached to each tier, which makes the entry point and the ceiling easier to read side by side[1][7][8][9]. For wholesale operators, the useful question is not only monthly price. It is whether the platform pricing model matches how many stores, brands, and catalogs you need to run.
- Starting monthly price
- Mid-tier monthly price
- Upper published monthly price
- Card rate from
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
BoxNCase also ties its tiers to store and SKU ceilings, which matters when one account must serve more than one brand, region, or catalog[10][11][12][13].
Buyers
Buyer access and account scale
Buyer-facing commerce is not just a storefront. In wholesale, you often need separate stores, catalogs, and account structures for channels, territories, or brand lines. BoxNCase publishes store counts from 1 store on Free to up to 100 stores on Enterprise, plus unlimited SKUs on the higher tiers[10][11][12][13][14][15]. Shopify publishes staff-account limits on two of its plans, which is useful for internal access, but it does not answer the same wholesale operating question by itself[5].
- Published store limit
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
- Published SKU limit
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
- Staff accounts published
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
If your team needs multiple stores for different buyer groups, the published BoxNCase tiers describe that directly[10][11][12][13].
Operations
Wholesale operations and storefront control
Shopify is built for broad commerce use cases and includes online selling, point of sale, apps, and a large ecosystem in its public positioning[2]. BoxNCase is narrower by design. Its published plans mention marketplace listing, shared storefronts, isolated stacks, custom domains, priority support, SLA, and dedicated support depending on tier[6][16][17][18]. For wholesale teams, those details matter because they map to how you present products, separate accounts, and hand off support.
- Shared storefront on entry plan
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
- Custom domain on higher tiers
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
- Support on higher tiers
- BoxNCase
- Shopify
Use the plan that matches how much storefront separation and support structure you need[6][16][17][18].
Plan and feature comparison
| Feature | BoxNCase | Shopify |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | ||
| Free entry point | Yes$0 per month[1] | 3-day free trial, then $1/month for 3 months[4] |
| Published basic monthly plan | Starter $79 per month[7] | Basic $29 per month[2] |
| Published mid-tier monthly plan | Brand $299 per month[8] | Advanced $299 per month[2] |
| Scale limits | ||
| Stores on entry plan | Up to 1 store[10] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Stores on Starter or Grow plan | Up to 3 stores on Starter; up to 10 on Brand [c:bnc-growth-stores][11] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Stores on Enterprise plan | Up to 100 stores[13] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| SKU limit on entry plan | Up to 200 SKUs[3] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| SKU limit on higher tiers | Unlimited SKUs on Brand and Enterprise[14] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Operational fit | ||
| Marketplace listing | YesIncluded on published BoxNCase plans[6] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Shared storefront | YesIncluded on Free and Starter[6] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Custom domain | YesIncluded on Brand and Enterprise[17] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Dedicated support or SLA | Dedicated support and SLA on Enterprise[18] | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims |
| Staff accounts published | Not publishedNot stated in the provided claims | Grow up to 5; Advanced up to 15[5] |
Where BoxNCase is narrower and where that helps
Wholesale plan structure
BoxNCase publishes a ladder from Free to Enterprise with store and SKU limits on each tier, plus marketplace listing and storefront controls[6][16][17][18]. That is useful when you want the account structure to reflect the business model. A general commerce stack can be flexible, but it can also leave more of the wholesale design work to configuration. If you need a simpler map from plan to operation, the BoxNCase pricing pages are explicit about what each tier includes.
Store and catalog separation
BoxNCase publishes separate store ceilings by tier, from 1 store on Free to 100 on Enterprise, and it publishes unlimited SKUs on the higher plans[10][11][12][13][14][15]. For brands with multiple lines, regions, or distributor programs, that separation can keep operations readable. It gives you a public limit to plan around instead of making you infer the ceiling from a general-purpose ecommerce catalog.
Storefront and domain control
BoxNCase includes shared storefronts on the lower plans and custom domains on the higher plans[6][16][17][18]. That matters when your wholesale buyers need one public path for browsing and a different setup for internal account work. Shopify is broader in platform scope, but the provided pricing claims focus on plan price, trial terms, card rates, and staff accounts[2][4][5].
Support model
BoxNCase publishes email support on Starter, priority support on Brand, and dedicated support with an SLA on Enterprise[16][17][18]. That can matter if your team manages seasonal launches, multiple buyer groups, or distributor exceptions. Shopify also offers a broad ecosystem in its public positioning, but the claims provided here do not give the same tier-by-tier support detail[2].
When Shopify is the better fit
- Stay with Shopify if you want a broad ecommerce platform for many sales motions, not a wholesale-specific operating model. Its public pricing page centers on general commerce plans, payment rates, and staff accounts[2][5].
- Stay with Shopify if you already use its app and theme ecosystem and you want to keep that stack in place. The public Shopify positioning emphasizes its app store and commerce tools[2].
- Stay with Shopify if you need a simple public starting point with a trial and low first-month cost. Shopify offers a 3-day free trial and then $1 per month for the first 3 months[4].
- Stay with Shopify if your team is sized around internal users and standard online store management. Shopify publishes staff-account counts on Grow and Advanced, which may fit teams that do not need the store separation BoxNCase publishes[5].
How to move from Shopify
Plan by catalog
Map stores, brands, and SKUs first
List each brand, channel, and catalog before you move data. Then match those needs to the BoxNCase tier that publishes enough stores and SKU room for the current line and the next one[11][12][13][3][14][15].
Plan by workflow
Rebuild the buyer path
Set up the shared storefront or custom domain path you want buyers to use, then decide where marketplace listing fits in the process[6][17][18]. If your Shopify store has become a general catalog, this is the point to simplify the wholesale path.
Need help deciding the right path?
Book a callCommon questions
What is the main difference between BoxNCase and Shopify?
BoxNCase publishes plan limits around stores, SKUs, storefronts, and support that are oriented to wholesale operations[6][17][18]. Shopify publishes general commerce plans, a trial offer, card rates, and staff-account counts[2][4][5].
Can I start BoxNCase at no cost?
Yes. BoxNCase Free costs $0 per month and includes up to 1 store and up to 200 SKUs[1][10][3].
How does Shopify pricing start?
Shopify lists Basic at $29 per month.[2] It also offers a 3-day free trial and then $1 per month for the first 3 months for new stores[2][4].
Which platform publishes more wholesale-style limits?
BoxNCase publishes more wholesale-specific limits in the claims provided here, including store counts, SKU ceilings, marketplace listing, shared storefronts, custom domains, and support tiers[6][16][17][18].
Does Shopify publish SKU limits in the provided pricing claims?
No. The provided Shopify pricing claims cover monthly plans, a trial offer, card rates, and staff accounts, but not SKU limits[2][4][5].
Compare plans and start the move
Use the plan pages to match store count, SKU count, and support needs before you switch[10][3][13][18].
More comparisons and guides
Sources
- [1]BoxNCase Free plan costs $0 per month. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [2]Shopify's monthly plans are Basic $29/mo, Grow $79/mo, Advanced $299/mo, and Plus from $2,300/mo (Plus offered as a $399 trial). https://www.shopify.com/pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [3]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [4]New stores get a 3-day free trial, then pay $1/month for the first 3 months. https://www.shopify.com/pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [5]Online card rates start at 2.9% + 30 cents on Basic, 2.7% + 30 cents on Grow, and 2.5% + 30 cents on Advanced; Grow allows up to 5 staff accounts and Advanced up to 15. https://www.shopify.com/pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [6]BoxNCase Free plan features: 1 store; Up to 200 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com); Stripe Connect payouts. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [7]BoxNCase Starter plan costs $79 per month ($768 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [8]BoxNCase Brand plan costs $299 per month ($2,868 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [9]BoxNCase Enterprise plan costs custom pricing (sales-led). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [10]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 1 store. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [11]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 3 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [12]BoxNCase Brand plan includes up to 10 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [13]BoxNCase Enterprise plan includes up to 100 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [14]BoxNCase Brand plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [15]BoxNCase Enterprise plan has no SKU limit (unlimited SKUs). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [16]BoxNCase Starter plan features: Up to 3 stores; Up to 2,000 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront; Email support. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [17]BoxNCase Brand plan features: Up to 10 stores; Unlimited SKUs; Isolated stack; Custom domain; Priority support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
- [18]BoxNCase Enterprise plan features: Unlimited stores; Isolated stack; Custom domain; SLA; Dedicated support. Marketplace listing included; isolated stack; custom domain; own storefront. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-10-05)
Last reviewed 2026-10-05. Competitor figures come from linked public pages on the capture date; check each source for the current number.