Skip to content
BoxCase

BoxNCase vs Alibaba.com

A practical comparison for wholesale food and beverage brands and distributors.

Use BoxNCase when you want a branded wholesale stack with store limits, SKU limits, and plan-based support. Use Alibaba.com when you want access to a large global buyer marketplace and an RFQ-led sourcing motion. The two models solve different jobs, so the better fit depends on how you sell, how you route orders, and how much control you want over the storefront.

$0[1]
BoxNCase Free plan
0%[2]
Alibaba.com supplier commission
40 million+[3]
Alibaba.com active business buyers

Fees

How the fee model compares

BoxNCase uses published plans with fixed monthly pricing and plan caps. Alibaba.com says it charges suppliers no sales commission and sells membership plans instead. That makes the comparison less about a take rate and more about whether you want a storefront stack with plan limits or a marketplace membership with buyer access and RFQ tools.

Entry price
$0 per month[1]
BoxNCase
0% commission[2]
Alibaba.com
Published plan pricing
$64 per month on Starter[4]
BoxNCase
Membership plans[2]
Alibaba.com
Annual plan price
$768 per year on Starter[4]
BoxNCase
Not stated on the pricing page
Alibaba.com

Alibaba.com also describes its plans as flexible plans that grow with you.

Buyers

What buyer access looks like

Alibaba.com is built around a broad buyer marketplace. BoxNCase is built around wholesale commerce infrastructure for brands and distributors that want their own stack, including a marketplace listing and a shared storefront on the lower tiers, then isolated stack and custom domain on higher tiers. The buyer question is not only reach. It is also whether you need a marketplace audience or a controlled branded channel.

Buyer base stated on the pricing page
Marketplace listing[5]
BoxNCase
40 million+ active business buyers[3]
Alibaba.com
Countries and regions
Not stated in the claims provided
BoxNCase
190+ countries and regions[3]
Alibaba.com
Languages
Not stated in the claims provided
BoxNCase
17 languages[3]
Alibaba.com

Alibaba.com also gives members 60 chances per month to send quotes in its RFQ marketplace.[6]

Operations

What you can control day to day

BoxNCase publishes store counts, SKU caps, storefront types, and support levels by plan. Alibaba.com’s pricing page emphasizes membership access, quoting, and supplier storefront reach. If your team needs to manage multiple brand stores, a custom domain, and isolated infrastructure, BoxNCase makes those controls explicit in the plan table. If your team wants marketplace exposure and RFQ participation, Alibaba.com centers that motion.

Stores on the entry plan
Up to 1 store[7]
BoxNCase
Supplier storefronts[3]
Alibaba.com
SKU cap on the entry plan
Up to 200 SKUs[8]
BoxNCase
Not stated on the pricing page
Alibaba.com
RFQ quote allowance
Not stated in the claims provided
BoxNCase
60 chances per month[6]
Alibaba.com

BoxNCase Starter includes email support, while Brand and Enterprise add priority, SLA, and dedicated support.

Feature by feature

Feature by feature
FeatureBoxNCaseAlibaba.com
Commercial model
Commission on orders
Plan-based pricing[1]Free is $0 per month; paid plans are fixed monthly or annual prices.[1]
0% commission[2]Alibaba.com says it takes no sales cut.
Membership approach
Public plan tiers[1]Free, Starter, Brand, and Enterprise are published.
Membership plans[2]Alibaba.com describes flexible plans that grow with you.
Custom pricing
Enterprise sales-led[12]Custom pricing on Enterprise.
Not publishedNot statedNo public price is stated on the claims provided.
Buyer reach
Marketplace audience
Marketplace listing[5]Included on Free, Starter, Brand, and Enterprise.
40 million+ active business buyers[3]Alibaba.com states this on its pricing page.
Geographic reach
Not publishedNot statedNo country count is stated in the claims provided.
190+ countries and regions[3]Stated on Alibaba.com pricing page.
Language coverage
Not publishedNot statedNo language count is stated in the claims provided.
17 languages[3]Stated on Alibaba.com pricing page.
Store and catalog controls
Stores on Free
Up to 1 store[7]Free plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo store limit is stated in the claims provided.
Stores on Starter
Up to 3 stores[11]Starter plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo store limit is stated in the claims provided.
Stores on Brand
Up to 10 stores[13]Brand plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo store limit is stated in the claims provided.
Stores on Enterprise
Up to 100 stores[9]Enterprise plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo store limit is stated in the claims provided.
SKU limit on Free
Up to 200 SKUs[8]Free plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo SKU limit is stated in the claims provided.
SKU limit on Starter
Up to 2,000 SKUs[15]Starter plan limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo SKU limit is stated in the claims provided.
SKU limit on Brand
Unlimited SKUs[16]Brand plan has no SKU limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo SKU limit is stated in the claims provided.
SKU limit on Enterprise
Unlimited SKUs[17]Enterprise plan has no SKU limit.
Not publishedNot statedNo SKU limit is stated in the claims provided.
Support and branding
Shared storefront
YesYes[5]Shared storefront is included on Free and Starter.
Not publishedNot statedNo shared storefront claim is provided.
Custom domain
YesYes[14]Included on Brand and Enterprise.
Not publishedNot statedNo custom domain claim is provided.
Priority support
YesYes[14]Included on Brand.
Not publishedNot statedNo support tier claim is provided.
Dedicated support
YesYes[18]Included on Enterprise.
Not publishedNot statedNo support tier claim is provided.
RFQ quote allotment
Not publishedNot statedNo RFQ allotment is stated in the claims provided.
60 chances per month[6]Members can send quotes in the RFQ marketplace.

What BoxNCase gives you

Plan structure, storefronts, and support

Published tiers with clear limits

BoxNCase publishes Free, Starter, Brand, and Enterprise plans. Each tier states what you get for stores, SKUs, storefront style, and support. That makes it easier to match the platform to a catalog size or a channel structure without guessing what the next contract step looks like. If you want a public ladder with named limits, BoxNCase makes that visible.

Store and SKU control

The plan table shows 1 store and 200 SKUs on Free, 3 stores and 2,000 SKUs on Starter, 10 stores and unlimited SKUs on Brand, and 100 stores and unlimited SKUs on Enterprise.[9][10] For distributors with several line sheets or brands with separate catalogs, those limits can be a practical filter when you compare operating models.

Branded storefront options

Free and Starter use a shared storefront. Brand and Enterprise add a custom domain and an isolated stack. That matters when you want a storefront that looks and behaves like your own channel instead of a public listing. The difference is operational as much as visual, because it changes how you manage accounts and traffic.

Support that scales with plan level

BoxNCase ties support to the plan. Starter includes email support. Brand adds priority support. Enterprise adds SLA and dedicated support. If your team handles more stores or more SKUs, the support model can matter as much as the catalog limits. It gives you a way to align service with how much the channel carries.

Who should stay with Alibaba.com

  • You should stay with Alibaba.com if your main need is broad marketplace exposure and you want to reach a large buyer base already active on the platform. The model is centered on discovery, not on building a managed branded storefront.
  • You should stay with Alibaba.com if RFQ activity is part of your sales process and you want the monthly quote allowance built into the membership motion. BoxNCase does not publish an RFQ allowance in the claims provided.
  • You should stay with Alibaba.com if your team is already structured around supplier storefronts in a global marketplace and you do not need published store caps, custom domains, or an isolated stack on day one.
  • You should stay with Alibaba.com if you want a no-commission supplier model and are comfortable comparing membership options directly with the value of the buyer audience and quoting tools.

How to move from Alibaba.com to BoxNCase

Start with one catalog

Move a limited assortment first

If you want to test BoxNCase, begin with one brand or one distributor line. Map the catalog into a plan tier, confirm the store count and SKU limit you need, and keep the rest live until the new setup is stable.

Rebuild the storefront

Use your own channel structure

BoxNCase gives you a shared storefront on lower tiers and a custom domain on Brand and Enterprise. Use that to rebuild navigation, store logic, and account handling around your own wholesale process instead of a marketplace listing.

Bring support in line

Match service to volume

If your account needs email, priority, or dedicated support, choose the BoxNCase tier that fits the load. That keeps support tied to the channel structure as you move away from a marketplace-led setup.

Need help planning the move?

Talk to BoxNCase

Common questions

Is BoxNCase the same kind of product as Alibaba.com?

No. BoxNCase is a wholesale commerce platform for brands and distributors. Alibaba.com is a global B2B marketplace with supplier storefronts, buyer reach, and RFQ tools. The difference is between running your own stack and participating in a large marketplace.

Does Alibaba.com charge commission on orders?

Alibaba.com says suppliers pay 0% commission on orders and that it takes no sales cut.[6] It uses membership plans instead. That makes pricing easier to compare at the plan level rather than as a per-order fee.

What does BoxNCase publish on its pricing page?

BoxNCase publishes plan names, monthly or annual pricing, store counts, SKU limits, storefront type, and support level. The Free plan is $0 per month, and paid tiers add higher limits and more control.[1]

How many stores can BoxNCase support?

The Free plan includes up to 1 store, Starter includes up to 3 stores, Brand includes up to 10 stores, and Enterprise includes up to 100 stores.[9][11] Those caps help you match the platform to how your catalog is organized.

How much catalog volume can BoxNCase handle?

The Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs, Starter includes up to 2,000 SKUs, and Brand and Enterprise have no SKU limit.[15] If your assortment is large or split across brands, that matters in the plan comparison.

What does Alibaba.com emphasize for suppliers?

Alibaba.com emphasizes supplier storefronts, a stated base of 40 million+ active business buyers in 190+ countries and regions, 17 languages, and RFQ quoting.[3] That points to a marketplace-led sales motion.

When is BoxNCase the clearer fit?

BoxNCase is the clearer fit when you want a public plan table, store and SKU limits, custom domain options, and support tied to plan level. It is designed for operators who want their own wholesale channel.

Choose the model that fits your channel

Review the plan table, then decide whether a managed wholesale stack or a large marketplace audience fits your operating model.

Related comparisons and alternatives

Sources

  1. [1]BoxNCase Free plan costs $0 per month. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  2. [2]Alibaba.com charges suppliers 0% commission on orders, taking no sales cut, and instead sells membership plans described as 'flexible plans that grow with you'. https://seller.alibaba.com/pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  3. [3]Alibaba.com says supplier storefronts reach a base of 40 million+ active business buyers in 190+ countries and regions, in 17 languages. https://seller.alibaba.com/pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  4. [4]BoxNCase Starter plan costs $64 per month ($768 per year billed annually). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  5. [5]BoxNCase Free plan features: 1 store; Up to 200 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com); Stripe Connect payouts. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  6. [6]Members get 60 chances per month to send quotes in Alibaba.com's RFQ marketplace. https://seller.alibaba.com/pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  7. [7]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 1 store. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  8. [8]BoxNCase Free plan includes up to 200 SKUs. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  9. [9]BoxNCase Enterprise plan includes up to 100 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  10. [10]BoxNCase Starter plan features: Up to 3 stores; Up to 2,000 SKUs; BoxNCase marketplace listing; Shared storefront; Email support. Marketplace listing included; shared partners stack; no custom domain; shared storefront (yourname.myboxncase.com). BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)
  11. [11]BoxNCase Starter plan includes up to 3 stores. BoxNCase pricing (captured 2026-09-02)

Last reviewed 2026-09-02. Competitor figures come from linked public pages on the capture date; check each source for the current number.

More comparisons